Life: Chess Not Checkers

Chess, The game of life, is a game where every decision made impacts the entire board. And if I’m going to have an impact on the entire board I’m doing it my way (my way or the highway.) Checkers is a game played to have the last piece on the board. I don’t play that game in life. Although checkers is a pretty fun game. And I actually know how to play it better than chess. But for my life its more like chess. Chess challenges your decision making. I like to play the game of the decision. Decision making is life itself. I have no simpler way to put it. It’s crazy as kids we aren’t as mindful with this tool so we did radical things from our decision making. Chile, were those the times. But now as an adult, shit is real! Being aware that my decisions have a ripple affect on my life, the people around me and the entire world, is quite serious to me. That’s a huge task.
But if you love your people and people in general and love your vocation and the service it gives to those people, job well done. The task isn’t as difficult. I love my people and that means I have to make extraordinary decisions. And in order to make extraordinary decisions you have to know exactly what you want. In chess, you move any piece you want. Now, think about those chess tournaments you see in movies. Yes chess tournaments, whole tournaments. The players are masterminds at this game. This is their living! I mean I don’t know if chess pays but I wouldn’t opt that out. In the heated game their moving how they want and see benefit for the security of their win. You have the will to move how you want. That’s fair. I’ve done that my entire life. Despite the shortcomings, I’ve been free. As have you. But now there’s awareness of how those moves affect everything. Every piece has its own rule that works perfectly for itself and you. And that makes each piece even more valuable. The Queen can move freely. The King cannot. Pawns can only move forward. To name a few. There’s order in the court! But the goal of the game is to checkmate your opponents king. In my game it’s to checkmate my vocation, my dream. My pieces are faith, strength, courage, confidence and so on. The opposing side that’s holding my dream hostage is fear, doubt, insecurity, laziness, excuses and all those other things. Now that’s a small yet terrifying army. Guarding my dream and trying to get through my heaven sent army just jump on me! I mean what the hell! ( I went there for a second.) Decisions. I can decide to perish or I can make the right decisions, play the right pieces accordingly and win! And unlike chess matches and tournaments, this game doesn’t end.

Leave a comment